Sunday, December 4
4:00 PM
M. Steinert & Sons
The Natick Mall
1245 Worcester Street – Route 9
Natick, Mass.

Please join us for the first concert of the PiAnomalies series, where you will be taken on a musical journey around the world. Admission to this concert is free, but seating is limited. Please reserve your place by visiting here or by calling (508) 655-7373.

Noted pianist Alex Poliykov will be joined by wonderful musicians and great artists, Laura Villafranca (Piano) and Lannah Fitzgerald (Saxophone). Together they will present both hidden and well known gems of classical music literature. You will experience some of the most vibrant, breathtaking, sensitive, joyful, nostalgic, sincere, tragic, fun, playful and inspiring pieces of music written for piano and accompanied by piano.

This concert is truly an adventure beyond the “traditionally perceived” musical code that includes notes, rhythms, dynamics and tempo. Artists will engage your imagination and creativity as you listen to the performances, to let you experience the music the way composer thought about it, but through your own thoughts and feelings. 

Many pieces will be presented with a brief introduction, telling the story behind the composition, certain events from the composer’s life, and other interesting information relevant to the piece. So, before hearing each piece you will have some image, some idea, to possibly connect the music to. It may be very abstract, some vague emotions, or it might be very detailed – all depending on the piece. As you start listening to the music, the image, the idea, will come to life, resonating with your own personal, individual life experiences. 

For students and children there is a special art project that will allow them to experience music beyond just the written text. The musical piece for this project will be – “Pictures at an Exhibition” by M.P.Mussorgsky, which is a piano cycle of 10+ short pieces, each of which has a title and represents a certain character/story/setting. Each participant will receive recordings of a few pieces from the cycle along with their titles, and will be asked to create a few drawings/sketches, based on what he or she hears and knows about the given piece. Also, there will be one or two pieces sent without titles – and the participant will draw only from what is heard in the music, without any hints. This part of the experience will be especially valuable, since most pieces of “classical” music do not have titles that represent the character and that might give us a clue about the story behind the music. We need to rely solely on our imagination and any additional knowledge we might have, in order to perform such pieces.

Although current piano students are highly encouraged to participate, everybody is welcome, no musical experience is necessary!

If you wish to participate – please email Alex Poliykov at info@poliykov.com. Pieces and titles will be sent starting November 20th, and you will receive them within 48 hours of emailing us. Since the cycle will be performed at the concert, drawings representing particular pieces from the cycle will be presented to the audience at the concert. Each participant will receive certificate of participation. At the end, the audience will choose top drawings and the winners will receive awards.

miss this opportunity to experience great music, open up your imagination, and enjoy a memorable family experience! Stay tuned for updates, as the second concert of PiAnomalies series will be scheduled in Winter of 2017.



Sonata Op. 19, 3rd movement

Fitzgerald with A. Poliykov


Suite Op. 11

Villafranca with A. Poliykov


Pictures from an Exhibition



Saxophone with Piano

Fitzgerald with A. Poliykov


Sonata Op. 19, 1st movement


Five Exotic Dances





Piano Duets

Villafranca with A. Poliykov


Sabre Dance


Star Wars – Cantina Band


Legend Op. 59, #3


Petersburger Schlittenfahrt


The Scarlet Cape


Hungarian Dance #5


Ballet from Orpheus & Eurydice


Sleigh Ride