Four Hands Piano: Laura Villafranca and Ai-Ying Chiu

Friday, April 8, 2016
7:30 pm
M. Steinert & Sons
Natick Mall
1245 Worcester Street
Route 9, Natick MA

Please join M. Steinert & Sons for a special evening of “four hands” piano featuring internationally renowned pianists Laura Villafranca and Ai-Ying Chiu.

Admission to this concert is free but seating is limited. Please click here to reserve your place.


Rhapsody in Blue                                     Gershwin

The Nutcracker:                                        Tchaikovsky

  • March
  • Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy

Waltz from The Sleeping Beauty            Tchaikovsky-Rachmaninoff


Libertango                                                    Piazzolla

Hungarian Dance No. 5                              Brahms

Hungarian Dance No. 6

William Tell Overture                                  Rossini-Gottschalk


Laura_Villafranca_2Laura Villafranca

Mexican born pianist Laura Villafranca is one of her country’s promising talents. After playing her debut with the Mexico City Chamber Orchestra at the age of thirteen, she won a scholarship to continue her musical studies in the United States of America. Ten years later she won the Silver Medal at Mexico’s National Piano Competition “Angélica Morales- Yamaha” where she was also given the prize for best interpretation of a work by Bach. Other awards include first prize at The Boston Conservatory Concerto Competition, Honorable Mention in the Corpus Christi International Competition and the A.R.T.S Competition where she was selected for the Who’s Who Among American High School Students, the Oberlin Conservatory’s Dean’s Scholarship, the Wilfred Churchill Competition and the Benjamin Kasser scholarship which earned her full tuition at The Boston Conservatory.

Ms. Villafranca is an active soloist and chamber musician. She has performed with the Mexican National Symphony Orchestra at the Palacio de Bellas Artes, the Querétaro Philharmonic Orchestra, the Mexico City Chamber Orchestra, The Boston Conservatory Orchestra in Harvard’s Sanders Theatre and the Sinfonia Perusina in Italy. Her collaboration with conductors include Juan Carlos Lomónaco, Jose Guadalupe Flores, Catherine Comet, Enrico Marconi and Miguel Bernal Matus. Recent appearances include chamber recitals at the Palacio de Bellas Artes in Mexico City, live broadcasted performances in Mexican classical music stations Radio IMER and Radio UNAM. Currently, she continues to perform during the musical seasons hosted by the National Institute of Fine Arts in Mexico City, with solo and chamber music performances.

Laura Villafranca began her piano studies with Benjamin Valdés Aguilar, continuing at the Interlochen Arts Academy, The Oberlin Conservatory and The Boston Conservatory under the tutelage of Angela Cheng, Michael Lewin, Victoria Mushkatkol and Stephen Perry. (

Ai-YingAi-Ying Chiu

Pianist Ai-Ying Chiu was born in Kaohsiung, Taiwan where she began her piano studies when she was four. Ai-Ying has been a finalist and award recipient at many International Competitions such as Russian Music Piano Competition, Seattle International Piano Competition, Chinese International Piano Competition, Steinway Piano Competition, Arlington Young Artist Competition, etc. She has been invited to perform in numerous important concert halls in Russia, France, Germany, Italy, U.S.A., Canada and Taiwan. This includes performances of a Mozart Piano Concerto K.488 at Basilica San Francesco in Assisi, with Enrico Marconi and the Sinphonia Perusina, and solo performances at the Rachmaninoff Concert Hall in Tambov, Russia, The Town Hall in NYC, Illsley Ball Nordstrom Recital Hall at Benaroya in Seattle among others, receiving highly favorable reviews from the audience.

In pursuit of her Master’s degree and Graduate Performance Diploma, Ai-Ying entered The Boston Conservatory with a full-tuition scholarship in 2005, and began studies with Michael Lewin. During her time at The Boston Conservatory, she won the highly competitive H. Wilfred Churchill Piano Scholarship Competition and an opportunity to work with the Conservatory orchestra on Rhapsody on a theme of Paganini by Rachmaninoff and a Mozart concerto.

As a pianist, Ai-Ying actively works with other musicians and artists. She is the founding member of Voyage Piano Trio and Kaohsiung Chamber Music Ensemble. Ai-Ying resides in Boston where she has her own teaching studio and also holds a teaching position at New School of Music in Cambridge. For more information please visit